Unsuccessful but Not Defeated

Greetings! Once again it’s been a while but y’all knew I wasn’t going to let the month end with out both a donation and a final update on NaNoWriMo…which this post is related to each of those things! Originally I had planned on writing a bigger piece, with much more explanation and heart but to be frank I am exhausted and don’t have the energy. So this is going to be short and sweet and maybe at a later date I can add-on to it with all that I wanted to say but for now know that it is one of my donations/posts that means a lot to me personally.

Okay so first things first; I did not complete NaNoWriMo this year. It sucks and I hate admitting it but it just wasn’t in the cards this year. I should have prepared myself way more than I did, had a better idea of the story I wanted to tell and the characters I wanted to write, also should have been more dedicated and strict with making time to write, as well as just being a little more positive. My end word count was right around 38,000 and yes with the remaining hours of the day I could try to improve upon that but as stated above I am just worn out and keeping my eyes open alone is a lot of effort at the moment. Not to mention 38,000 words is nothing to be too upset or ashamed of, it is more than I thought I could produce after realizing how unprepared I was and even if I know a lot of it is not great, just filler it could still potentially be something later on for me to work with if I return to the story.

I’d had loved to reach 50,000 words again and win for the second year in a row but it’s also a good lesson for me to experience that you win some and you lose some and it’s not the end of the world nor does it make you a horrible writer if you happen to lose. I am just really glad I decided to participate again and push on even when I felt it was going south so dang fast and that each time I opened my document to write felt like a chore more than anything. Pushing myself was good and though I still technically lost I am not feeling defeated or like a loser.

And on that note it transitions into my donation for the month. I knew when creating my list of groups to donate to I wanted one for reading, which ended up being Reading is Fundamental, and one for writing. When it came to picking the later I thought it would be fun to page homage to something that was at the very core and foundation of my writing experience, and a lot of that comes from fanfiction. I started dabbling in writing fanfiction when I was 14 and discovering my favorite shows and characters and just wanted to see slightly different things happening to them than was on the show. I’d read a lot before I ever got the courage to write my own but once I took that step it was one of my favorite things to do.

So with all of that in mind I choose to donate to Archive of Our Ownwhich is an amazing fan-created and fan-ran page that holds thousands upon thousands of fanfiction (as well as fandart and videos) for a truly incredible variety of fandoms. It is unique in that it is not for profit and has zero ads to bother you while you are browsing and reading, which for me is just fantastic. In reality I just can not stress enough how great the site is for the use of both writing and reading fanfiction, which is why donating to them and helping them stay as awesome as they are is both an easy decision and so fun.

000

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I plan on taking a bit of a mental break for the next week or two so I don’t think you’ll hear from me until at least the middle of December but after that I’ll try to be more regular and back and posting about random things…hey maybe I’ll even get out that review of the con I went to earlier this month since I’ve yet to do that still! Until then I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving holiday and have fun starting that huge task of holiday shopping!

Leave a Reply

