Prompt-tober 2015: Day Twenty-eight

It’s been another long day with not a whole lot of sleep for my so my brain feels pretty fried. But I had this idea that I wanted to do a writing piece with a bonfire at the epicenter, it comes from a couple song inspirations Bonfire by Slow Kids at Play and Raised on It by Sam Hunt, and then for good measure I looked up a photo to help just a bit more. I also decided it was going to be another ‘100 words or less’ piece. :)

-x-

We scored the perfect spot, close enough that the heat of the flames is constant, but far enough the cool breeze whips around any loose hair. On the other side of the pit I can see Luke dancing to whatever song is playing loudly from the boombox set to the south side of the circle. I hadn’t been aware of how all the stress was building up within me over the last few months, and the laughter from everyone sitting around brings a comfort that puts my entire body at ease. This is just where I needed to be tonight.

Autumn cottonwoods illuminated by a big bonfire.

Autumn cottonwoods illuminated by a big bonfire.

Leave a Reply

