Bowing Out

It’s official.

I am bowing out of NaNoWriMo. It’s annoying that I am quitting, because I hate being a quitter, but I feel it is much better for me in a few ways to do it. I just don’t feel like I am in the greatest place mentally lately and writing under the pressure of NaNoWriMo and those high goals is more stress than relief. I still really enjoy my characters and the story I had planned for them and I can see myself working on it here and there, but just not in the same capacity I would be if I were participating in NaNoWriMo.

I hate when writing feels like a chore to me because I turn to writing as a method to help with shitty moods or bad days and when I can’t do that it doubles down on the bad or negative feelings. So I am choosing to step away from the pressure (that I know I put on myself) of NaNoWriMo so that I can turn to writing and words when I need it instead of feeling like, “Crap. Gotta get that daily word count goal in or I am a giant piece of crap.”

This wasn’t a fun conclusion to come to but I do feel like it was necessary to make it. So best of luck to all of those of you continuing on with the NaNoWriMo journey, I can’t wait to hear about your progress. I’ll be back next year, or maybe this summer I’ll do the Camp since I’ve never done it and it could be a good place to pick up again.

Leave a Reply

