Thank You Gilmores

For the last month or two I’ve been making my way through a re-watch of Gilmore Girls on Netflix and last night I finished, just in time to wake up today and celebrate the shows 16th birthday.

Now I am classically a person who gets way too emotional and way too invested in fictional characters. However, Gilmore Girls is one of the first shows that brought out what is now just a facet of my existence. I didn’t know about or fully understand what fandom was till I started watching this show and Smallville, these shows are the start of a lot for me. And so it will always, always hold a special place in my heart.

But I don’t think I have watched this series in full, from start to beginning in order, since it was on the air. I frequent the early seasons, one through four, so I’ve seen them many times but I always tend to fall off around five and up. So this going through it all again in chronological order has made me really appreciate the show and these characters.

I started watching this show when I was 14, and so it’s not even a stretch to say that these characters and their stories influenced me. I saw my mom and I in Lorelai and Rory, and my grandparents in Richard and Emily, and my small town in Stars Hallow even if we are not as adorably connected and quirky as them. I looked to these characters for a lot in my teenage years and they taught me so much and helped me understand more about who I was and who I wanted to me.

And even now, over ten years later, I still found myself seeking similar things and finding so much comfort. I can’t even properly word how much I was reminded just how much this show, these characters mean to me. I am just mostly so thankful for all that Amy Sherman-Palladindo has given me with her creation, and so extremely excited to watch the four new episodes that we are getting blessed with.

So thank you to the Gilmores and company.

Leave a Reply

