This is Where I am at

It’s 11:35 a.m. on the day after election day and our next President has been chosen. Donald Trump will be the 45th President of the United States of America, and it’s a nightmare become a reality for many people. I can’t change it no matter how much I wish I could.

Currently I am sad, I am hurt, and I am mad as hell. The worst part isn’t even that my preferred candidate has lost. The worst part isn’t really that he preformed well beyond what anyone truly expected of him. No the worst part is that I am now aware that nearly half of my fellow American citizens that bothered to show up & vote voted in favor of hate.

Donald has said and done the most disgusting of things in the last two years of his campaign and for decades before that. He is racist. He is xenophobic. He is homophobic. He is sexist and misogynist. He has vilified immigrants and talked about loving war. He has mocked those living with disabilities. And now we have made him President-elect.

Now the scariest thing is that we know he has supporters. He has found the people in this country that see those actions and grew happy and excited a candidate finally represented them. He has drawn out the worst qualities in us as human beings and made them the pillars he ran part of his campaign on. This is an invitation to those people that they too can be racist, homophobic, sexist, divisive and cruel and get away with it. Because if we not only allowed him to get away with it all then why can’t they?

Donald himself will have to shape up at least in some sort of fashion, he will have tighter reins and more restrictions than he ever has. But his supporters are out in the real world with none of that, they will be able to invoke his hateful rhetoric in the public sphere and think they are being the model citizen crafted after their leader. And that’s what truly scares me.

As a bisexual woman in this country I am waking up actually worried about my well-being in my home. And I’m still a white cis-gendered woman in the Midwest. My friends and loved ones who are POC, LGBT+, women, immigrant, and disabled face a stronger fear than I can likely imagine. I can’t help but feel that if you’re in my life and you voted for Donald Trump you don’t care about me, and I’m sure other people who belong to those communities feel the same. Particularly if you voted for him because you liked his running mate. Mike Pence is a monster. He believes that conversion therapy is not just an option but something that LGBT+ people should endure to “fix” them. Your vote for that man says you think I need electroshock therapy and a complete break down of my character to be considered “right” and “normal”. Screw you very much.

That being said, Donald Trump is still our President-elect. I am with Hillary and President Obama in the sense we have to give him an open mind. I would love to be surprised or proven wrong by him, but I am not holding my breath. It’s very much going to be a ‘one day at a time’ experience for the next four years.

But at the end of the day I know that sitting down & letting things happen is not the style of the marginalized. We have faced a set back with this vote, but it is also a challenge for us to work harder and be more vigilant for each other and the future of our country. We will look out for each other and do whatever it takes to not actually let our country regress from the immense progress we have made in the recent past. Hillary rallied us, built a strong support and love system between all of us. She helped us see what we can do and what a future that has our strong faith and support can look like. It’s been postponed for now but it’s not canceled or forgotten.

We can be a better country and we can’t lose that hope. We’ve got a lot of work to do and all that fight and energy starts today Wednesday, November 9th, 2016.

One thought on “This is Where I am at

Leave a Reply

